Core team

Börries Kuzmany

Timo Aava

Anna Adorjáni

Matthias Battis

Marina Germane

Oskar Mulej

Yuki Murata



Project manager

Szilvia Steiner

Associates and visiting fellows

Associates are invited to join and collaborate with the NTAutonomy team while staying and conducting research in Vienna.

Tatiana Kripachenko

Southern Scientific Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences, August-September 2021

Triin Tark

University of Tartu (Estonia) April 2021

Melek Fetisleam

Institute of Turkology at Babeş-Bolyai University in Cluj , November-December 2020

Tomasz Błaszczak

(Research fellow at the Czesław Miłosz Center in Vytautas Magnus university in Kaunas (Lithuania) and part time research fellow at the Lithuanian Studies Unit at the Martynas Mažvydas National Library of Lithuania)

György Majtényi

(Social historian and professor at Károly Eszterházy University in Eger)

Artur Boháč

 (Department of Geography in Technical University of Liberec)  December 2019 - January 2020

László Bence Bari

(Central European University, Budapest, Hungary) ∗ February-August 2019

Marina Germane

University of Glasgow, October-November 2018

Gennadii Korolov

(National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Kyiv) ∗ March-July 2018

Research Intern

Johanna Wicke

Jan Kłapa

Bernhard Aigner

Ksenia Paesold

Daniela Wastl

Academic advisory board

Our Academic Advisory Board consists of eminent academic personalities who provide counsel and help maintain the NTAutonomy-Project’s high standards.

David Smith

(University of Glasgow, Glasgow – Professor of Central and East European Studies)

Pieter Judson

(European University Institute, Florence – Professor of 19th and 20th Century History)

Sabine Dullin

(Sciences Po, Paris – Professor of 20th century history of Russia and Eastern Europe)

Want to join?

Our Vienna-based project aims to be a research hub for those interested in NTAutonomy. Our team is happy to invite and receive scholars in the broader field of non-territorial autonomy:

  • GUEST RESEARCHERS will be invited to join the NTAutonomy-Team for one month. Travelling and living expenses are covered by the NTAutonomy project.
  • PROJECT ASSOCIATES are invited to join and collaborate with the NTAutonomy team while staying and conducting research in Vienna. Travelling and living expenses must be covered by own resources.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme under Grant Agreement no 758015